Shared Cars Shared Bikes Shared Rides Shared Scooters Mobility Hubs
Events News & opinion About Contact Join / donate Accreditation

Mobility hubs are a new feature for our streets which are designed to carve out space for public transport alongside active and shared mobility modes to improve the public realm for all. it is important they are implemented well, and we learn from excellent examples overseas. Hubs should deliver integrated, quality services and consider the needs of those who live nearby as well as those who travel through.


CoMoUK has worked with partners to create a set of standards for assessing new mobility hubs. The core of this work is the six factors that should be considered for the successful scheme design illustrated in this graphic.

Six Success Factors of the Quality Standards

  • Choice of modes
  • Visibility and accessibility
  • Ease of switching between mode
  • Safety
  • Practical features
  • Visual, social and community features


The quality standards can be applied to each mobility hub ahead of the implementation as a check-list of items to consider. They cover not just the design but also the process for community consultation and implementation. Those developing hubs can apply to CoMoUK to carry out an assessment of their hub/s to receive formal accreditation status at either bronze, silver or gold standard.


In our Introductory Guide to Mobility Hubs we explore 6 typologies for hubs;

    • city centre large interchanges hub,
    • transport corridor linking hubs,
    • suburban mini hubs,
    • business park or housing development hubs,
    • rural market town hubs
    • and tourism hubs,

The quality standards have been adapted for each context with a set of suggested elements required to meet the standards and achieve accreditation. Read more about the quality standards and CoMoUK Accreditation in the guidance below.


Introductory Guide to Mobility Hubs 

Mobility Hub Accreditation: SETTING Quality Standards 

Accreditation application form and fee structure (to follow)

Contact to apply the tool in your area